I AM A KENYAN

This is the country I was born in, I was raised and which I intend to grow old.

It’s the only country I do know really well. It’s not perfect but again that wouldn’t be a country – maybe a fantasy square meter in Disney land. For me, there is so much opportunity if you only tore the veil.

I am loyal

I am patriotic

I am Kenya

Many have laid down their lives for this beautiful country and it’s the fruits of freedom and peace of their labors that we enjoy now, as they have their rest. I… You can die for this country.

kenyaflag

This is my (our) prayer:

O God of all creation

Bless this our land and nation

Justice be our shield and defender

May we dwell in unity

Peace and liberty

Plenty be found within our borders

Let one and all arise

With hearts both strong and true

Service be our earnest endeavor

And our homeland of Kenya

Heritage of splendor

Firm may we stand to defend

Let all with one accord

In common bond united

Build this our nation together

And the glory of Kenya

The fruit of our labor

Fill every heart with thanksgiving

The craze of the Kenyan culture will leave your mouths wide open; it’s only up to you to prevent any housefly from making a land. From the Mijikenda’s in the coast to the Maasai’s in the rift will make you glad to be Kenyan. Not forgetting the-not-so parleying heated politics.

From seeing the Big Five face to face – no wonder this is the home of the BBC wildlife channels ‘Big Cat Diary’ – , to the immense migration of the Wildebeest which is one of the great wonders of the world.

From the pristine white sandy beaches and its turquoise waters to the mysterious and historic sites found all over this beautiful country, what else would you need?

For me it’s the shape of Kenya on a map just gives me that ear-to-ear smile. Let’s thank God for the best shaped country in the world.

And if I had a choice to start all over again, I’d choose to be born in Kenya within a split second, because of the great and dear citizens I’ve met and interacted with.

To conclude with the words of Franklin D. Roosevelt, “Let us never forget that government is ourselves and not an alien power over us. The ultimate rulers of our democracy are not a President and senators and [governors] and government officials, but the voters of this country. “

God bless Kenya.

2 thoughts on “I AM A KENYAN

Leave a Reply

